A password-protected directory or area is a folder that could be accessed when a username and a password are typed in, so no unauthorized individuals may view its content. This option may be used for the primary folder of a given Internet site or just for a particular subfolder in accordance with your preferences. For instance, if you are creating a new website and you don't want people to see it before it's 100% ready, you may want to limit the access to it completely, whereas if you would like only some individuals to be able to access particular files, you can password-protect only a particular folder, while the rest of the Internet site may be seen by everyone. Either way, a “403 Forbidden” error page shall appear when the login details the visitor enters aren't correct. Even a direct link to a file won't work so long as any folder above it is password-protected.

Password Protected Directories in Web Hosting

With the password protection tool that comes with each and every web hosting package which we offer, you shall be able to secure any content that you have within your account with just a few mouse clicks. Due to the fact that the tool is an element of our innovative Hepsia CP, it provides exactly the same uncomplicated interface and you'll not require any special skills to use it. As soon as you check out the Password Protection section, you will need to choose one of the domains or subdomains which you have inside the account and then decide if the protection should be turned on for the main folder or for a subfolder. Then enter the username and the password you want and you will be ready. A small padlock icon in the File Manager section will tell you that a specific folder is password-protected. In the very same way you will be able to include multiple usernames and passwords for the same folder if you would like several people to have their own login credentials.